

# Minutes of the 42<sup>nd</sup> DCED Annual Meeting Business Session Teleconference, 4 June 2020

23 June 2020

In 2020, the face-to-face elements of the 42<sup>nd</sup> DCED Annual Meeting were cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic. To perform the functions defined in the <u>DCED Charter</u>, the Business Meeting was therefore held on-line. It was attended by 26 participants from 22 agencies (see <u>annex</u> below).

# Introduction

Liliana de Sá Kirchknopf (SECO), DCED-ExCo Co-Chair, welcomed participants to the online meeting and provided an overview of recent activities of the DCED. During the year, the Working Groups have been very active, organising 17 meetings and 27 webinars. The DCED websites have had 160,000 users during the year. With the COVID-19 pandemic affecting jobs and incomes across the developing world, it has become critical for the DCED to support members in adjusting to the crisis. Among others, the DCED has launched a new knowledge portal with resources on PSD and COVID-19 and all Working Groups are increasingly focusing on the topic. The PSE Working Group was one of the first to address necessary adjustments to COVID-19 and held three online meeting within 6 weeks to facilitate peer exchanges among members.

Liliana de Sá further explained that according to the DCED Charter, Annual Meeting decisions are taken by consensus, or if not possible by a simple majority vote of member representatives (apart from amendments to the Charter); they can be taken at face-to-face or online meetings, or by e-mail exchanges, or any combination of these methods.

# **Election of two Executive Chairs**

Meredith Lee (MasterCard Foundation), outgoing ExCo member, chaired this session, noting that both Co-Chairs, Liliana de Sá and Johan Veul (NL MoFA), have completed a two-year term on the ExCo, and are therefore due for re-election. Both expressed their willingness to stand for re-election as Co-Chairs. No other candidates expressed their interest in standing. Both Liliana de Sá and Johan Veul were then re-elected as Co-Chairs by acclamation.

# Election of members of the Executive Committee

Liliana de Sá thanked Meredith Lee for her two-year service on the ExCo, which included facilitating the hosting of the 2018 Annual Meeting in Toronto. Merten Sievers (ILO), who also has been on the ExCo for 2 years, was willing to stand for re-election.

Elisabet Montgomery (Sida) expressed her interest in standing for election, noting that both she personally, and Sida, have been engaged in the DCED for many years. She currently is Sida's focal point for the DCED and also actively participates in the MSD Working Group.

No other candidates were forthcoming. Merten Sievers and Elisabet Montgomery were then elected to the ExCo by acclamation.

## **Applications for membership of DCED**

Two agencies, Ireland DFA and Luxemburg MoFA, applied for DCED membership and briefly outlined their interest in joining.

Neil Gannon, Ireland DFA, explained that Ireland's shift from a focus on social protection to private sector engagement and development means that learning from other agencies active in this space has become an increasing priority. A 2014 OECD DAC Review of Ireland's development cooperation also strongly recommended the development of a private sector engagement strategy; follow-up consultations with many stakeholders revealed that DCED membership would be helpful to inform this process. Two DFA representatives subsequently joined the 2019 Annual Meeting as observers and realised first-hand the benefits of the informal sharing of experiences happening in the DCED.

Thomas Lammar, Luxemburg MoFA, noted that Luxemburg has informally participated in various DCED meetings for about three years, in particular the Private Sector Engagement Working Group. A priority for Luxemburg is to drive forward commercially viable and sustainable solutions to development, building on private sector knowledge, technology and finance. They have therefore experienced DCED discussions as very useful and informative. Luxemburg has also recently strengthened its PSE unit, underlining the importance of the DCED to their work.

DCED membership of both Ireland DFA and Luxemburg MoFA were approved by acclamation.

Alicia Contreras-Donello, USAID, noted that fast-evolving domestic priorities have meant that their application for DCED membership did not get internal approval in time for this year's Annual Meeting. USAID will however continue to actively engage in DCED Working Groups; the hope is that approval can be secured for a formal membership application in due course. *N.b. USAID subsequently was able to apply, so the Executive Chairs emailed the membership, proposing that USAID's application be accepted if no objections were received by 23<sup>rd</sup> June; no objections were received so USAID became a full member.* 

#### Annual Work Plan and Budget

Questions or comments were invited but none were received. Members then approved the FY 2020-21 Work Plan and Budget by acclamation. (N.B. ADA had separately approved the work plan beforehand by email.)

#### **Progress Report**

Questions or comments were invited but none were received. Members then approved the FY19-20 Progress Report by acclamation. (N.B. ADA had separately approved the progress report beforehand by email.)

#### **Next Annual Meeting**

Liliana de Sá informed members that SDC is again offering to host DCED's 2021 Annual Meeting in Bern, Switzerland, building on the preparations that had already been made for the 2020 Annual Meeting. No other invitations to host the Annual Meeting were put forward. SDC's invitation was therefore gratefully accepted without objection.

### **Annex - List of Participants**

#### Agency Representative Australia DFAT 1 Kayte Davidson Jean-Jacques Bastien 2 Belgium BDC 3 Observer Nathan Rasquinet 4 EC Matthias Altmann 5 Laura Desmoulin Finland 6 Germany BMZ Tobias Lechtenfeld 7 Observer Simon Ruf 8 Observer **Daniel Taras** 9 ILO **Merten Sievers** ITC 10 Anders Aeroe 11 Japan JICA Saki Ito 12 MasterCard Fdn Meredith Lee Johan Veul 13 Netherlands MoFA 14 Norway MoFA Mehraz Rafat 15 OECD Paul Horrocks 16 Sweden Sida **Elisabet Montgomery** 17 Switzerland Guido Beltrani 18 Chair Liliana de Sa 19 UK DFID Lindsey Napier 20 UNIDO Stefan Kratzsch 21 Anna Schrenk Observer 22 WBG IFC Simon Andrews 23 Observer Urkaly Isaev

# Newly admitted members at this year's AM

24	Ireland DFA	Neil Gannon
25	Luxembourg MAE	Thomas Lammar

#### **Potential members**

26 USAID Alicia Contreras-Donello

# Organisers

DCED Secretariat	

Jim Tanburn Melina Heinrich-Fernandes

Apologies: Gunter Schall, ADA

Technical difficulties: Lisbeth Jespersen Denmark MoFA; Siobhan Kelly, FAO