

44th Annual Meeting of the Donor Committee for Enterprise Development Minutes of the Business Session, 10th June 2022

14th June 2022

Liliana de Sá (SECO / DCED Co-chair) chaired the meeting, with the exception of the element where she stood for re-election as Chair. She opened the Session and welcomed those in the room, and those joining virtually. A list of those participating is given in the Annex.

1. Election of ExCo Co-chairs

Liliana explained that Johan Veul (NL MoFA / DCED Co-chair) was retiring shortly, so there was a vacant position as Co-chair; she opened the floor for candidates to come forward. Merten Sievers (ILO and current ExCo member) volunteered and was voted in as the new Co-chair by acclamation.

Liliana and Merten offered their thanks to Johan for his work over the last eight years as ExCo Chair; Johan responded (in the chat box) by thanking members for the great and inspiring collaboration over the past years, adding that it had been a pleasure to have been a member of this community.

Liliana having served as Chair for a full two-year term, she stood for re-election, handing over the chair function temporarily to Merten; she was duly re-elected by acclamation, and continued to chair the rest of the meeting.

2. Election of ExCo Member

Since Merten's election as Chair created an open position on the Executive Committee, Liliana opened up the floor to invite members to stand for the position. Rens Twijnstra (NL MoFA) came forward, and spoke about his experience, and his interest to serve on the ExCo. He was then voted in a new ExCo member by acclamation.

3. Applications for membership of the DCED

Liliana invited Arjun Bhoopal (Gatsby) to introduce Gatsby Africa, in support of their application for membership of the DCED. Arjun offered a summary of the organisation and praised the DCED for its role in helping agencies to communicate and collaborate together. Gatsby was voted in as a new DCED member agency by acclamation, with no objections.

Liliana then passed the word to Harry Devonshire (Argidius Foundation), as they had also applied for DCED membership. Harry similarly offered a summary of the Argidius Foundation, and Argidius was voted in as a new DCED member agency with no objections.

Liliana welcomed them both to the DCED.

4. Approval of the 2021-22 Progress Report

The 2021-22 Progress Report had been circulated to members in mid-May and was approved by acclamation, with no objections.

5. Approval of the 2022-23 Work Plan and Budget

Similarly, the 2022-23 Work Plan and Budget had been circulated to members in mid-May and was approved by acclamation, with no objections.

6. Invitations to host the 2023 Annual Meeting

Harry Devonshire and Merten Sievers invited the DCED to Switzerland in 2023, subject to confirmation by their respective managements. Arjun asked for an overview of what hosting practically involves; Jim Tanburn (DCED Secretariat) offered a summary. Helene Ystanes Føyn (Norad) queried whether the Annual Meeting is always in June. Liliana confirmed that it is always sometime in the first 2 weeks of June.

7. Any Other Business

Merten and Liliana thanked the DCED Secretariat team for organising the 44th DCED Annual Meeting in Cambridge. Anders Aeroe (ITC) announced that he will retire this year and also spoke to the great collaboration that the DCED facilitates. He firmly believes that the DCED has a lot of value in facilitating trusted dialogue on best practices between donors, UN organisations and others.

Annex: List of Participants

Chair: Liliana de Sá, SECO

Member Representatives

- 1. Australia DFAT Laura Allison (on-line)
- 2. Austria ADA Gunter Schall
- 3. Canada GAC Farouk Jiwa (on-line)
- 4. European Commission Paz Velasco (on-line)
- 5. FAO Siobhan Kelly (on-line)
- 6. Finland MoFA Mika Vehnämäki
- 7. Germany BMZ/GIZ Oliver Meinecke (on-line)
- 8. IDRC Erin Tansey
- 9. ILO Merten Sievers
- 10. Ireland MoFA Niall Cremen (on-line)
- 11. ITC Anders Aeroe
- 12. JICA Shingo Morihata
- 13. Luxembourg MAE Ernstine Kornelis
- 14. MasterCard Foundation Nafis Muntasir
- 15. Netherlands MoFA Rens Twijnstra
- 16. Norway NORAD Tullik Helene Ystanes Føyn
- 17. Sweden Sida Elisabet Montgomery
- 18. SDC Luca Etter
- 19. UK FCDO Tom Sanderson

- 20. USAID Andrew Nelson (on-line)
- 21. IFC Simon Andrews (on-line)

Potential Member Representatives

- 22. Arjun Bhoopal (Gatsby)
- 23. Harry Devonshire (Argidius Foundation)

Observers

- 24. Anastasia de Santos (USAID)(on-line)
- 25. Claudia-Dominique Geiser (GIZ)
- 26. Daniel Taras (GIZ)
- 27. Johan Veul (NL MoFA)(on-line)
- 28. Mehraz Rafat (Norad)(on-line)
- 29. Moussa Traoré (USAID)(on-line)
- 30. Pascal Fabing (LuxDev)
- 31. Rob Skidmore (ITC)
- 32. Ross Masood (IFC)(on-line)
- 33. Susi Thiard-Laforet (ADA)
- 34. Toru Homma (JICA)
- 35. Urkaly Isaev (IFC)(on-line)
- 36. Yuka Asakawa (JICA)

Apologies

- 37. Denmark Danida Lasse Moller
- 38. OECD Paul Horrocks
- 39. UNIDO

Secretariat

Jim Tanburn, Holger Grundel, Mike Albu, Ella Duffy